Workshops2011 PDF Print E-mail
 Sunday, 14 November 2010 – Written by Giovanni Bert   

The Organisation, Economics and Policy of Scientific Research


(University of Torino – Collegio Carlo Alberto)



Collegio Carlo Alberto, Via Real Collegio 30, Moncalieri, Torino.

February 18-19, 2011




February 18 th (day 1) - Morning



8:30        WELCOME COFFEE


8:50        Welcome to Collegio Carlo Alberto: Pietro Garibaldi

Welcome to BRICK: Cristiano Antonelli

9:00 Introduction: Aldo Geuna


COST-STRIKE Section 1      9:15 – 11:00

9:15     Linus Dahlander and Walter W. Powell

Consensus and credit in the academy: Placing scientific collaboration in context

9:35     Christian Martinez Diaz

Research delegation in the laboratory: Complementarities in the scientific productivity

9:55     Giulio Cainelli, Mario A. Maggioni, T. Erika Uberti, and Annunziata de Felice

The strength of strong ties: Co-authorship and productivity among Italian economists


10:15   Discussant: Jacques Mairesse


11:00 - 11:15 COFFEE BREAK


Section 2        11:15 – 13:00

11:15   Dennis Leyden and Albert Link

Research risk and public policy: The relative research efficiency of government versus university labs

11:35   Julien Jacqmin

A Theory of Shared Governance in Higher Education

11:55   Michael Mandler

Maximizing the value of science: no news can be good news


12:15   Discussant: Cristiano Antonelli


13:00 – 13:45 LUNCH


February 18 th (day 1) – Afternoon



COST-STRIKE Section 3      13:45 – 16:00

13:45   Martin Ryan

The Impact of Skills-Matching on the Productive Output of Ph.D. Graduates: Evidence from Ireland

14:05   Natalia Zinovyeva

Academic inbreeding in Spain: Evidence from a randomized natural experiment

14:25   Carolin Haeussler and Henry Sauermann

Credit where credit is due? The impact of project contribution and social factors on authorship and inventorship

14:45   Bruno Cassiman, Reinhilde Veugelers and Sam Arts

Boundary spanning inventors and partnerships: How to appropriate spillovers from science.


15:05   Discussants: Aldo Geuna and Pier Paolo Patrucco


16:00 – 16:15  COFFEE BREAK


Section 4                    16:15 – 18:00

16:15   James Adams

The origins of industrial scientific discoveries

16:35   Annamaria Conti and Erika Farnstrand Damsgaard

The organization of biotech firm R&D: Effects of US stem cell policy

16:55   Markus Simeth and Julio Raffo

What makes companies commit to Open Science

17:15   Discussant: Michele Cincera


18:30      BUS BACK TO TORINO CENTRE (Piazza Carlo Felice – NH Hotel)


20:00      DINNER (Corso Moncalieri 2 - Ristorante I Canottieri)

February 19 th (day 2) - Morning


8:30        WELCOME COFFEE


Section 5 9:00 – 10:45

9:00     Sadao Nagaoka, Masatsura Igami, Manabu Eto and Tomohiro Ijichi

Knowledge creation process in science: Initial findings from the scientists survey in Japan

9:20     Catherine Beaudry and Sedki Allaoui

Impact of research funding on nanotechnology scientific production: does concentration in

a few universities make sense?

9:40     Henry Sauermann and Michael Roach

The price of silence: Scientists’ trade-offs between pay and the ability to publish


10:00   Discussant: Cornelia Meissner


10:45-11:00    COFFEE BREAK

Section 6        11:00 – 13:15

11:00   John Walsh, Hsin-I Huang, Yeonji No, Masatsura Igami and Sadao Nagaoka

Collaboration and commercializing academic science: Findings from a US author survey

11:20   Maria Abreu and Vadim Grinevich

Personal, institutional and spatial determinants of academic entrepreneurship in the UK

11:40 David Mowery, Neil Thompson and Arvids Ziedonis,

Patents, material transfer agreements (MTAs), and the flow of scientific knoweldge

12:00   Discussant: Maryann Feldmann


12:45      AWARD: DIME Best Junior Scholar Paper Prize


13:00 – 14:00 FAREWELL LUNCH


14:30      BUS BACK TO TORINO TOWN CENTRE (Piazza Carlo Felice – NH Hotel)

Instructions to Presenters and Discussants:

Sessions with 3 papers: presenter has 20 minutes. Discussant has 30 minutes, 15 minutes discussion.

Sessions with 4 papers: presenter has 20 minutes. Discussant has 40 minutes, 15 minutes discussion.


The Room will be equipped with a laptop and a standard video-projector. Presenters, please have your presentation ready on a USB memory card.



BRICK-DIME-STRIKE Workshop Participants:



Maria Abreu

Department of Economic Geography, University of Groningen, Netherlands

James Adams

Department of Economics, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Cristiano Antonelli

Università di Torino and BRICK, Italy

Catherine Beaudry

MAGI, École Polytechnique de Montréal, Canada

Michele Cincera

Département d'Economie appliqué, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

Annamaria Conti

College of Management , Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Linus Dahlander

European School of Management and Technology, Germany

Maryann Feldman

Department of Public Policy, University of North Carolina, USA

Aldo Geuna

Università di Torino and BRICK, Italy

Vadim Grinevich

Department of Architecture, University of Cambridge, UK

Carolin Häussler

Inno Tec, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich, Germany

Masatsura Igami

National Institute of Science and Technology Policy, MEXT, Japan

Julien Jacqmin

CEREC, Facultés Universitaires Saint-Louis & ESL, Belgium

Dennis Leyden

Department of Economics, The University of North Carolina, USA

Mario A. Maggioni

DISEIS and CSCC, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Italy

Jacques Mairesse

CREST-INSEE, Paris; UNU-MERIT, Maastricht University & ICER

Michael Mandler

Department of Economics, Royal Holloway College, UK

Christian Martinez-Diaz

BETA, Université de Strasbourg, France

Cornelia Meissner

Università di Torino and BRICK, Italy

Sadao Nagaoka,

Institute of Innovation Research, Hitotsubashi University, Japan

Pier Paolo Patrucco

Università di Torino and BRICK, Italy

Francesco Quatraro

GREDEG-CNRS, University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France and BRICK, Italy

Martin Ryan

School of Economics & Geary Institute, University College Dublin, Ireland

Henry Sauermann

College of  Management, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Sotaro Shibayama

RCAST, The University of Tokyo, Japan

Markus Simeth

CEMI, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

Reinhilde Veugelers

MSI, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium & C.E.P.R., UK

John  P. Walsh

School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Arvids Ziedonis

Charles H. Lundquist College of Business, University of Oregon, USA

Natalia Zinovyeva

Institute of Public Goods and Policies, CSIC, Spain

Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 May 2012 17:34