Monday, 10 October 2016 – Written by Francesco Quatraro   

Call for papers




for doctoral students in


Economics of Innovation, Complexity and Knowledge


Collegio Carlo Alberto, Moncalieri, Turin


December 15-16, 2016


The Vilfredo Pareto Doctorate program of the University of Turin and the BRICK, Collegio Carlo Alberto, are pleased to announce the 4th Doctoral Workshop in Economics of Innovation, Complexity and Knowledge. The aim of the workshop is to bring together PhD students from all over the world working in the broad fields of Economics of Innovation, Complexity and Knowledge. The Workshop will provide participants with a great opportunity to network with peers researching on similar topics and to receive feedbacks from both junior and senior scholars.


We invite PhD students to submit an extended abstract (max 1000 words) of their medium or advanced stage paper on the following topics:


  • Diusion of Innovation
  • Green Innovation
  • Innovation & Employment
  • Innovation & Migration
  • Biased Technological Change
  • Innovation Policy
  • Entrepreneurship & Firm Dynamics
  • Knowledge Exchange and Co-creation
  • Research Networks and Collaborations
  • Scientific Careers and Mobility
  • Agent-based Models for Economic Analysis
  • Network Analysis for Economic Purposes


We also welcome papers on the above topics that adopt historical analysis as methodological approach.




The workshop will cover two days (December 15-16, 2016) and will take place at the Collegio Carlo Alberto (Moncalieri, Turin). Each PhD student paper will be assigned to a junior (a fellow PhD student) and to a senior discussant (from BRICK and University of Turin faculty members and invited guests). In addition to parallel sessions, recognized scholars will provide keynote speeches.


Plenary Presentations


The fourth edition of our annual workshop is delighted to announce the following keynote speakers:


Professor Johan Bollen (Indiana University, Bloomington, IN, US)

Professor Davide Consoli (INGENIO [CSIC-UPV], Valencia, Spain)

Professor Elisa Giuliani (University of Pisa, Pisa, Italy)


Together with a large number of BRICK and University of Turin faculty members and invited discussants, they will comment and interact with participants.


Important Dates (all deadlines are twelve noon, your local time)


Deadline for abstract submission: October 21st, 2016


Decision of abstract acceptance: October 31st, 2016


Deadline for registration and payment of workshop fee: November 14th, 2016


Deadline for full paper submission: November 30th, 2016 Final program: December 1st 2016

Workshop dates: December 15-16, 2016




Submission Details


In order to apply, candidates are invited to fill in the form and to submit their extended abstracts at the following link:








Registration Fee: Each participant will be charged a fee of Euro 50.


Meals: Lunches and coffee breaks during the conference days will be provided by the organisation.


Welcome Cocktail: Thursday, December 15th.


Social dinner : Friday, December 16th.




The workshop will be held at the Collegio Carlo Alberto in Moncalieri, a medieval town close to Turin. The Collegio is housed in a historic building, which dates back to the XIII century and was rebuilt during XVIII century. It hosts research centers, residential faculty, fellows and visiting scholars. For further information about the Collegio and its activities, visit www.carloalberto.org.




For additional information, please contact the Organizing Committee


  • Address: Bureau of Research on Innovation, Complexity and Knowledge (BRICK) & Vilfredo Pareto Doctorate in Economics (VPDE), Via Real Collegio, 30, 10024 Moncalieri, Torino (TO) Italy.

Organizing Committee

Matteo Tubiana (University of Turin)
Francesco Trentini (University of Turin)
Paolo Racca (University of Turin)
Gianluca Orsatti (University of Turin)
Nadine Marmai (University of Turin)
Alexander Jordan (University of Turin)
Martina Iori (University of Turin)
Fabrizio Fusillo (University of Turin)
Bordeaux) Marco Guerzoni (University of Turin & BRICK)
Edoardo Ferrucci (University of Turin & University of Bordeaux)
Antonio De Marco (University of Turin)
Massimiliano Coda Zabetta (University of Turin)
Carlo Bottai (University of Turin)

Scientific Committee


Pietro Terna (Collegio Carlo Alberto)
Giuseppe Scellato (Polytechnic of Turin & BRICK)
Francesco Quatraro (University of Turin & BRICK)
Pier Paolo Patrucco (University of Turin & BRICK)
Fabio Montobbio (University of Turin & BRICK)
Aldo Geuna (University of Turin & BRICK)
Magda Fontana (University of Turin)
Alessandra Colombelli (Polytechnic of Turin & BRICK)
Cristiano Antonelli (University of Turin & BRICK)



Last Updated on Monday, 10 October 2016 22:09