Thursday, 08 October 2015 – Written by Francesco Quatraro   



The 10th Workshop on





May 09-10, 2016

Organised by LEI & BRICK

(Department of Economics and Statistics S. Cognetti de Martiis  – Collegio Carlo Alberto)

The aim of the workshop is to bring together a small group of scholars interested in the analysis of the production and diffusion of scientific research from an economics, historical, organizational, and policy perspective.



May 09 th (day 1)





8:50        Welcome and opening remarks (Aldo Geuna)

9:00 – 10:45               Session 1

9:00     Benjamin F. Jones University innovation and the professor’s privilege

9:20 Markus Simeth The gravity of scientific disclosure in technological competition

9:40     Yuan Shi Federal funding and the rate and direction of inventive activity

Discussant: Cristiano Antonelli


10:45 - 11:05 COFFEE BREAK


11:05 – 12:50             Session 2

11:05   Carter Bloch Which researchers benefit most from grants? An analysis of citation impacts of grants from the Danish Council for Independent Research

11:25   Nicolas Carayol and Marianne Lanoe The impact of project-based funding of science: the French ANR experience

11:45   John P. Walsh and Jian Wang Competitive versus block funding and creativity in Japan: status contingency effects

Discussants: Reinhilde Veugelers and Jacques Mairesse


12:50 - 13:40 LUNCH


13:40 – 15:25             Session 3

13:40   Lorenzo Zirulia Double disclosure and the negotiation of scientific credit in research teams

14:00   Maikel Pellens Misconduct in science and effects on innocent collaborators

14:20   Sotaro Shibayama Production of science and scientists: A case study of life science laboratories in Japan

Discussant: Paul David


15:25 – 15:50  COFFEE BREAK


15:50 – 17:35             Session 4

15:50   Janet Bercovitz Stars and their constellations: Great person or great team?

16:10   Charles Ayoubi, Michele Pezzoni and Fabiana Visentin Learning determinants: Absorbing knowledge flows from within or outside the team?

16:30   Oscar Llopis Star scientists versus interdisciplinary scientists: Exploring the distinct patterns of engagement in university-industry interactions

Discussant: Michele Cincera


17:50      BUS BACK TO TURIN CENTRE (Piazza Carlo Felice)


May 10 th (day 2)



8:40        WELCOME COFFEE

8:50 – 10:35               Session 5

8:50     Ajay Bhaskarabhatla How much do individuals and organizations contribute to innovation?

9:10 James D. Adams Theorems, lemmas and apps: The making of industrial software

9:30     Carolin Haeussler Bridging the gap from inventions to innovations - Increasing success rates in clinical trials

Discussant: Aldo Geuna


10:35 - 11:00 COFFEE BREAK


11:00 – 12:10             Session 6

11:00   Alessandro Iaria International knowledge flows: Evidence from the collapse of international science in the wake of WWI

11:20   Marc Scheufen On (open) access to research in developing countries: Empirical evidence from article-level data

Discussant: Fabio Montobbio

12:10 – 13:20             Session 7

12:10   Luis Sanz-Menendez and Laura Cruz-Castro Divided communities: introducing the preference of academics into the analysis of promotion

12:30   Mauro Sylos Labini and Natalia Zinovyeva Connections in scientific committees and applicants' self-selection: Evidence from a natural randomized experiment

Discussant: John P. Walsh


13:20 - 14:20 LUNCH


14:30      BUS BACK TO TURIN CENTRE (Piazza Carlo Felice)


Instructions to Presenters and Discussants:


Presenter has 20 minutes. Discussant has 5-10 minutes per paper.

The room will be equipped with a laptop and a standard video-projector. Presenters, please have your presentation ready on a USB memory card




Please register to attend as there are only a limited number of seats available.

All external participants will need to pay a fee of €150 (€100 for PhD students) to cover registration, access to all presentations, refreshments and lunch, transport between Turin and the conference venue, and the conference dinner. Please contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it for additional details.

Members of the Department of Economics and Statistics 'Cognetti de Martiis' and Collegio Carlo Alberto will have free access to the presentations but will not have access to the conference dinner or lunches without payment of the full fee.



List of Participants


James D. Adams –Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and NBER (US)

Cristiano Antonelli – University of Turin, Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto (IT)

Charles Ayoubi – École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (CH)

Janet Bercovitz – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (US)

Ajay Bhaskarabhatla – Erasmus School of Economics (NL)

Carter Bloch – Danish Centre for Studies in Research and Research Policy, Aarhus University (DK)

Nicolas Carayol – GREThA, University of Bordeaux (FR)

Michele Cincera – Université Libre de Bruxelles (BE)

Laura Cruz-Castro – CSIC Institute of Public Goods and Policies (ES)

Paul David – Stanford University (US)

Aldo Geuna – University of Turin and Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto (IT)

Carolin Haeussler – University of Passau (DE)

Alessandro Iaria – CREST–ENSAE (FR)

Benjamin F. Jones – Northwestern University (US)

Marianne Lanoe – GREThA, University of Bordeaux (FR)

Oscar Llopis – ESC Rennes School of Business (FR)

Jacques Mairesse – CREST-INSEE (FR) and UNU-MERIT, Maastricht University (NL)

Fabio Montobbio – University of Turin, Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto and Bocconi University (IT)

Maikel Pellens – ZEW-Centre for European Economic Research (DE)

Michele Pezzoni – Université de Nice Sophia Antipolis (FR) and Bocconi University (IT)

Luis Sanz-Menendez – CSIC Institute of Public Goods and Policies (ES)

Marc Scheufen – Ruhr University Bochum (DE)

Yuan Shi – Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland (US)

Sotaro Shibayama – Science Technology and Innovation Governance Program, University of Tokyo (JP)

Markus Simeth – Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (ES)

Mauro Sylos Labini – University of Pisa (IT)

Reinhilde Veugelers – KU Leuven (BE) and CEPR (UK)

Fabiana Visentin – École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (CH)

John P. Walsh – Georgia Institute of Technology (US)

Jian Wang – KU Leuven (BE)

Natalia Zinovyeva – Aalto University (SF)

Lorenzo Zirulia – University of Bologna and Bocconi University (IT)



Organising Committee

Cristiano Antonelli (University of Torino, Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto)

Michele Cincera (Université Libre de Bruxelles)

Paul David (Stanford University)

Aldo Geuna (University of Torino; Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto)

Marco Guerzoni (University of Torino; Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto)

Francesco Quatraro (University of Torino; Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto)

Cornelia Lawson (Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto; University of Nottingham)

Jacques Mairesse (CREST-INSEE, Paris; UNU-MERIT, Maastricht University)

Fabio Montobbio (University of Torino; Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto; Bocconi University)

Pier Paolo Patrucco (University of Torino; Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto)

Francesco Quatraro (University of Torino; Brick-Collegio Carlo Alberto)

Paula Stephan (Georgia State University; NBER)

Reinhilde Veugelers (KU Leuven; CEPR, London)

John Walsh (Georgia Institute of Technology)

Last Updated on Friday, 18 March 2016 17:46